Love

“I love you”
Words that are celebrated fill me with dread
I wonder if she really means it
If this is just a game,
Another round of target practice for those
Wondering how easy it’ll be to add another crack.

She senses fear, gently coaxing my hands into hers
Grounding me in this storm of doubt that batters my soul,
Gentle words and touches soothe the abused wolf within
Beginning to trust the beautiful woman who loves me with all her heart.

As she repairs my soul, I whisper the words back to her gently
Binding my heart to hers with the bound of mate.
“I love you” I whisper, full of trust tempered by pain,
” I love you.” I promise to try to be the woman she needs with these words

Because I love her.
As much as she loves me.

Leave a Reply

